Department of Electrical Engineering

About the Department

Dept. data last updated on :30/06/2022

The department of Electrical Engineering was established in 1935 with an intake of 20 students and the first graduate program started in 1940. A new phase of major developments in the department started during the third five-year plan when the intake was raised to 90. Currently, the department is offering undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctorate programs in various specialized disciplines of electrical engineering.  Presently the total intake of the B.Tech. program is 60 and the M. Tech program is 54. A new M.Tech. program in "Solar and Renewable Energy", with an intake of 10 students has been recently started by the department.  The department now runs one B.Tech and four M.Tech. programs. The thrust areas of the department are Power Systems, Power Electronics, Control, and High Voltage Engineering.

The faculty members have published a significant number of research articles in International Journals, IEEE Transactions, and in the Proceedings of various International and National Seminars, Conferences, Symposia, and Workshops. The faculty members have also published several textbooks and prepared and other Teaching Aids. Many research projects sponsored by A.I.C.T.E, U.G.C., D.S.T., C.S.T.(U.P.) have been successfully completed. The first Ph.D. in the Faculty of Engineering & Technology, Aligarh Muslim University was produced by this department in 1977 and since then many students have completed their Ph.D. degrees from the department. Further, the Faculty members of the EED have to date, published more than 1000 research papers. The Department has organized one IEEE international conference in 2019. In the last five years, many Workshops/Seminar/Training Programs have been successfully organized for young engineers, academicians, and scientists. Many faculty members have chaired technical sessions of different National and International meets and have also been members of various technical committees in the country. 

The department of Electrical Engineering has sanctioned strength of 27 faculty members and most faculty members hold doctorates from reputed institutes like IISc Bangalore, University of Oxford, IIT Delhi, IIT Roorkee, NTU Singapore to name a few. Faculty members have specialization in diverse fields of Electrical Engineering such as Power systems, Electrical Machines, Electrical Drives, High Voltage Engineering, Control systems, Instrumentation, Biomedical Engineering, Hybrid Electric Vehicles, and Renewable sources of Energy.





To become an internationally acclaimed department for the advancement of knowledge and technologies in the field of Electrical Engineering.





1. To become an internationally leading department for higher learning.

2. To build upon the culture and values of universal science and contemporary education.

3. To be a center of research and education generating knowledge and technologies which lay ground work in

shaping the future in the field of Electrical Engineering.

4. To develop collaboration with industries, R&D organizations, and government agencies and actively participate in

conferences, technical and community activities.


 For the latest research publication of the DepartmentClick here.