Department of Commerce


Dept. data last updated on :21/10/2021


"To be a renowned educational institution with global academic standards"


  • To develop socially responsible leaders and innovative entrepreneurs.

  • To adopt and practice blended teaching and learning pedagogies.

  • To create an inclusive environment for teaching, learning and research.

  • To impart quality education that caters to the industry needs for capacity building and professional excellence.


The Department of Commerce is one of the premier departments of Aligarh Muslim University. It was established in 1946. Prof. M. Shafi was the first Head of the Department. At present its Chairman is Prof. Nawab Ali Khan. The Department offers the following academic programmes:

1. Bachelor of Commerce B.Com. (Hons.)

2. Master of Commerce (M.Com.)

3. MBA (Financial Management) MBA(FM)

4. Master of  Tourism and Travel Management (MTTM)

5. Master of Human Resource Management (MHRM)

6. Master of Insurance & Risk Management (MIRM)

5. PG Diploma in Business Finance (PGDBF)

6. PG Diploma in Banking, Risk & Insurance Management (PGBRIM)

7. Ph.D. in Commerce

The contribution of the Department in the advancement of Research has been significant. The department of Commerce is providing research facilities to both Indian as well as Foreign Nationals. More than 70 Indian as well as Foreign Nationals are pursuing Ph.D. Progammes in the Department. Further the Department has two specializations in the areas of International Business and Finance & Accounts.

During the past decades the department has made valuable contribution to the development of Commerce and Management education in the country. The Alumni of the Department are holding important Managerial and Financial positions in prestigious organizations both in Public and Private Sectors, Banks and Multinationals. Besides, the Department has provided expertise in teaching and research to a number of countries including USA, UK, Japan, Iraq, Nigeria, Sudan, Zambia, Tanzania, Saudi Arabia, Ethiopia and International Agencies like United Nations Industrial Development Organizations (UNIDO) etc. Faculty members of this Department have been awarded International Fellowships like Commonwealth, Fulbright, UGC Cultural Exchange Awards for studies, delivering lectures and conducting research abroad.