Department of Political Science

About The Department

Dept. data last updated on :24/02/2021

The Department of History and Politics of the Aligarh Muslim University was established in 1922. The present Department of Political Science became a separate and independent Department in 1948. Presently the Department has 22 sanctioned faculty members. It offers B.A. (Hons.) and M.A. in Political Science. For the last two decades it has been offering two specialized Master's Programmes - M.A. in Public Administration and M.A. in Human Rights. Since 1967 the Department has been publishing a research journal, Indian Journal of Politics, [ISSN: 0303 - 9957] which has been indexed in the Current Contents and abstracted in the International Political Science Abstracts (Paris). Since 1948 nearly 50 books and monographs have been published by the faculty members.