Department of Physiology

About The Department

Dept. data last updated on :17/02/2021

The Department of Physiology is the primary department to have been started when J.N. Medical College came into existence on 2nd October 1962. . Prof. J.N. Prasad, M.D. (Physiology), M.S. (Ophth) joined the department as Chairman along with Dr. Wajihul Hasan, MBBS as demonstrator. Physiology Department is shifted to present building in June 1971 from the old building of the Department of Physics of the Aligarh Muslim University. 150 students in MBBS and 40 BDS students are admitted every year since 1996 and are undergoing teaching/training of Physiology.MD and PhD (Physiology) was started in 1973. Every year 5 Post Graduate students are admitted. The degree of MBBS and MD Physiology is recognized by Medical Council of India.

There are three laboratories namely Human, Haematology and Mammalian/Amphibion for the UG and PG students as recommended by Medical Council of India. The main field of research in the department is on clinical physiology. The Department has produced one Ph. D. (Physiology) and 44 MD (Physiology) since 1973.

The Faculty members are actively engaged in research work and have published more than 250 papers in National and International journals. Faculty of the department has received National level awards in cardiovascular and Medical Education

Many teachers are honoured by International fellowship of different countries to attend conferences and workshops related to physiology and Medical Education.

Department also provides Neurophysiological support to the hospital patients in form of Nerve Conduction Studies (NCS), Brainstem Evoked Response Audiometry (BERA), Electromyography (EMG) and Visual Evoked Potential (VEP). The Department has recently started Computer Assisted Amphibian Lab (CAAL), inaugurated by Hon'ble Vice Chancellor Lt. Gen. Zamir Uddin Shan.