Department of History

About The Department

Dept. data last updated on :26/02/2021

The Department of History, Aligarh Muslim University, is heir to the tradition established by the founder, Sir Syed Ahmad Khan. In the M.A.O. College, which preceded the University, careful attention was paid to the teaching of History. Sardar K.M. Panikker, the famous historian and statesman, was appointed Professor in History at the College and held that position when the college was converted into the Aligarh Muslim University by the Act of 1920.


In 1968 the Department of History was upgraded as a Centre of Advanced Study in History by the University Grants Commission (UGC) under its Special Assistance Programme (SAP). Currently we are a rare Centre in the entire nation running through our VII cycle which started in 2011.


Department of History is one of AMU biggest department. Since the inception of M.A.O College, the emphasis on teaching History was a priority. The department has a separate building adjacent to the Faculty of Arts.


The Department of History offers undergraduate, postgraduate and research courses. The major areas of focus in the Department of History, AMU are:


1. Sources of History, Persian, Indigenous &

Non-Indian etc.

2. Cultural, Social & Economical History

3. History of Science & Technology

4. Regional Studies

5. Central Asia Studies

6. Military History



Courses offered by Department of History:-


B.A (History) - 40 seats (Boys)

M.A (History) - 40 seats (Boys & Girls Both)

Ph.D. (History) - as per requirement & govt. norms