Brief History of the Department

The teaching of Geology was initiated in the Aligarh Muslim University at the undergraduate level in 1946. The Post-graduate teaching started in 1951 during the First Five Year Plan. The Department of Geology acquired its own building in 1961. The Faculty development programme was initiated during the sixties when additional staff was appointed to carry out teaching and research in various specializations such as Coal Geology, Economic Geology, Mineralogy, Petrology, Sedimentology, Stratigraphy and Glaciology etc. Later, specializations like Structural Geology, Hydrogeology, Environmental Geology, Remote Sensing, Sedimentology, Geochemistry, Engineering Geology and Petroleum Geology were introduced in the Department. Thrust areas of research of the department include Geochemistry, Sedimentology, Hydrogeology, Environmental Geology, Remote Sensing and GSI Applications and Micropaleotology. The Department offers the courses of B.Sc. (Hons.), M.Sc. (Applied Geology) and P.G. Dip. in Hydrogeology. The Department of Geology has the distinction of providing leadership in area of Sedimentology in India, and in recognition to this, the Indian Association of Sedimentologists has established its Headquarters in the Department of Geology. The U.G.C. has also recognized the contribution of the Geology Department in Sedimentology and Environmental Geology. In recognition to which D.S.A. in Sedimentology and Environmental Geology was sanctioned in 1992. The successful completion of D.S.A. Phase-I of the Department led to its extension as D.S.A. Phase-II and subsequently the Department was also selected for COSIST assistance for the development of its infrastructure.

The Department of Geology has introduced the M.Sc. Programme in Applied Geology during the IX Plan. The Department has adopted UGC model curriculum for B.Sc.(Hons.), M.Sc. Applied Geology since 2001-2002. The Department of Geology has hosted a number of National and International Conferences and Lectures by eminent National and International Geo-scientists, notable among them are International Gondwana Symposium (1970), Prof. E.S. Hills lecture Series (1972), Colloquium on Micropaleontology and Stratigraphy (1976), Seminar on Pollution Stress in Indian Rivers (1984), Indo-Soviet Symposium on Rifted Basins and Aulacogens (1990), Symposium on Gondwanic Crust 91995), I and IV Convention of Indian Association of Sedimentologists (1976,1884), XVIII Convention of Indian Association of Sedimentologists and Ntional Seminar on “Geotechnical Issues and Recent Researchs in Sedimentary basins of India, their significance in Industrial Development and Landsystem Management” (2001), National Conference on “Groundwater Management, future challenges and its impact on Environment” (2003) and 24th Annual Convention of Indian Association of Sedimentologists and National Seminar on “Sedimentary basins of India and their economic resources” (2008). A broad band seismological observatory has been established in 2009 by National Geophysical Research Institute (NGRI) under the seismicity monitoring project funded by Ministry of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India.

Chairman of the Department


Member of Board of Studies

  • Prof. D.V. Singhal, Co-opted Member, Roorkee
  • Dr. M. Prithviraj, Co-opted Member, New Delhi
  • Prof. Arif Hameed, A.C.'s Nominee, Dept. of Political Science, AMU
  • Prof. Fazal Mehdi, A.C.'s Nominee, Dept. of Mathematics, AMU
  • and All Faculty Members

Thrust Area of Research

  • Sedimentology
  • Paleontology and Micropalentology
  • Hydrogeology
  • Environmental Geology
  • Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology
  • Structural Geology
  • Economic Geology
  • Geochemistry
  • Remote Sensing and GIS Applications in Geology

Number of M.Phil. / Ph.D. Degree Holders

  • M.Phil/Ph.D. degrees Awarded : 120 Students