Department of Geology

The teaching of Geology was initiated in the Aligarh Muslim University at the undergraduate level in 1946. The Post-graduate teaching started in 1951 during the First Five Year Plan. The Department of Geology acquired its own building in 1961. The first Coal petrology lab in India was established at the department. The foundation stone of the current building of department of Geology' was laid down by Dr. D.N. Wadia, the then Geological Adviser of The Government of India, on the 5th day of February, 1957. The department has produced 04 D. Sc., 140 Ph.D. and 149 M. Phil degrees. The Department of Geology has been active in scientific deliberations and interactions and hosted a number of National and International Conferences and Lectures by eminent National and International Geo-scientists, notable among them are: International Gondwana Symposium (1970), Prof. E.S. Hills lecture Series (1972), Indo-Soviet Symposium on Rifted Basins and Aulacogens (1990). Teachers and Alumni of the department have received prestigious awards including National Mineral Award, M.S. Krishnan Gold Medal and have been selected as member of National working Group of different International Geological Correlation Programmes (IGCP). Its faculty members have published their research work in reputed journals like Precambrian Research, Gondwana Research, Cretaceous Research, International Journal of Geological Review, Journal of Asian Earth Sciences, Lithosphere, Island Arc. The department provides active support to run a P.D. Dip. Gem Testing and Jewelry course. Specialization of Research of the department include Geochemistry, Igneous Petrology, Sedimentology, Hydrogeology, Environmental Geology, Remote Sensing and GIS Applications, Micropaleotology, Economic Geology and Structural Geology. The Department offers courses of B.Sc. (Hons.), M.Sc. (Applied Geology), P.G. Diploma in Hydrogeology, M.Phil and Ph.D. The Department of Geology has the distinction of providing leadership in area of Sedimentology in India, and in recognition to this, the Indian Association of Sedimentologists has established its Headquarters in the Department of Geology. The U.G.C. has also recognized the contribution of the Geology Department in Sedimentology and Environmental Geology. In recognition to which D.S.A. in Sedimentology and Environmental Geology was sanctioned in 1992. The successful completion of D.S.A. Phase-I of the Department led to its extension as D.S.A. Phase-II and subsequently the Department was also selected for COSIST assistance for the development of its infrastructure. The University Grants Commissions has sanctioned a DRS-I (SAP) to the Department of Geology for 2010-2015 period for the upliftment of teaching and research under the following thrust areas: Petrology/Geochemistry, Environmental Geology